Clear-Com Presents USITT Stage Management Award to College Student

Award for live sound & theater excellence by a college student
Publish date:
Updated on
Image placeholder title

A.J. Cook (R) receives the USITT Award from Jay Wallace, West Coast regional sales manager for Clear-Com.

ALAMEDA, USA - Clear-Com, a manufacturer of intercom and communications systems, recently demonstrated its ongoing support of the United States Institute for Theater Technology (USITT), and Young Designers & Technicians (YD&T) by presenting awards for technical excellence. This year, as the sponsor of the organization’s Stage Management Award, Clear-Com and USITT honored Carnegie Mellon University senior, Aaron Jacob (A.J.) Cook, for his superior work in stage management and dedication to the performing arts. The award is part of USITT’s annual Conference and Stage Expo, which attracts roughly 4,000 design and production technology professionals each year.

The YD&T Awards are presented to young designers and technicians in the industry who are beginning their careers and who demonstrate outstanding potential in areas such as stage management, technical production, and lighting design. In recognition of his contributions, Cook, like all past winners, received a cash reward and registration to the 2014 USITT Annual Conference and Stage Expo, where he was provided the opportunity to meet privately with the award adjudicators and sponsors during the conference.

“As the Stage Management Award sponsor for more than a decade, Clear-Com is proud to be a part of the USITT. We are thrilled to support students in their early successes, as well as honor their exceptional skills,” said Judy Cheng, director of marketing at Clear-Com. “The creativity of stage management is seizing the benefits that proven technology brings to communications and live production, and A.J.’s use of this technology in his approach ensures that his productions are refreshing and creative. We congratulate A.J. on his achievements and know that he and the rest of this year’s winners will continue to accomplish amazing things in the field.”